Election Results Are In… You Voted For…

Election Results Are In… You Voted For…

The ballots went out on Tuesday over twitter on nine NFC North election items. Here are the results:

NFCN Election

The winner of our most disliked player in the NFC North is Aaron Rodgers, the cocky Green Bay Packers quarterback. Many might find this result as surprising as the Trump win over Clinton. That’s because Bears quarterback Jay Cutler’s brand has been among the most sullied in division history. Cutler’s been the butt of more jokes than Trump and Clinton put together. But, Rodgers has lately caught the dislike-bug and some of that negativity is coming from Wisconsin. Fans there are unhappy that he’s cut cheese out of his diet and while his play began to suffer before he banned cheese Packers fans think he needs a daily dose of grilled cheese sandwiches to get him back on track.

NFC North Election

With Sam Shields out and the Chicago Bears without a true shutdown cornerback, our race for Best Lockdown Cornerback was between Xavier Rhodes and Darius Slay. No contest. Rhodes might have benefited from a recent injury to Slay, but most believe that regardless of health the Vikings cornerback is the better CB. Rhodes is 6’1″ 215 pounds of aggressive, velcro-like cover man. Slay likes to call himself “Big Play Slay.” a nickname he lives up to, but he’s been burned a few times this season. Lions fans will undoubtedly feel he’s been unfairly burned here, too.

NFC North Election

Want to build a great defense? You begin up front with a trio of reliable pass rushers. The Vikings win this race with Everson Griffen, Danielle Hunter and Linval Joseph heading the ticket. The Detroit Lions trio came up last mostly because of Ezekiel Ansah’s injury. Last year’s NFCN sack king has yet to record a sack this season. The aging duo of Clay Matthews and Julius Peppers would have won this election a year ago. The Leonard Floyd, Pernell McPhee and Willie Young trio showed up strong and will be a serious contender in future elections.

NFC North Election

At the behest of Vikings Barroom Executive Editor BJ Reidell, running back Adrian Peterson was left off the ballot. Instead Teddy Bridgewater represented the Vikings and almost beat Jay Cutler for the NFCN Player Who Was Missed So Far This Year. Cutler missed five  starts with a thumb injury and the Bears went 1-4. Bridgewater was not missed during the Vikings five game winning streak to start the season, but fans are now wondering if his ability to work with a porous offensive line would be better than Sam Bradford’s inability to move in the pocket. DeAndre Levy has missed so many games that many fans might not remember who he is and Shields’ future in pro football is at risk because of a fifth concussion.


No other ballot generated more chatter than who is the Worst TV Announcer. Voters wanted other candidates and/or the ability to vote for ‘all of the above.’ But, as predicted Joe Buck was a run away winner. Buck who likes to run his mouth and irritate football fans of all ilk is the Fox-TV Sports head announcer so we’ll be hearing, or muting, more of him.

NFC North Election

More votes were cast for this ballot than all others. The results could be described as a huge surprise as Mike McCarthy, in his 11th year as head coach of the Packers, has a 108-59-1 record, a Super Bowl title and five division titles. But, the Packers are 7-10 over their last 17 regular season games and discontent is growing. The surprise here is that Jim Caldwell received only 11% of the vote. The Lions coach has been on the hot seat so often that his behind must be glowing, But, winning four of the team’s last five games has cooled off the fire. Bears coach John Fox came in a close second to McCarthy. And, Vikings offensive line coach Tony Sparano came in third as he’s been unable to get more out of the mediocre talent he inherited.

NFC North Election

The electorate might find this to be the biggest shocker of the election. Bears inside linebacker Jerrell Freeman has played under the radar to many, but astute viewers know he’s had a stellar year. Currently on top of ProFootballFocus.com’s top graded inside linebackers Freeman has an opportunity to earn his first Pro Bowl honor. Harrison Smith is regarded as one of the top safeties in the NFL, although his play has dropped during the team’s three-game losing streak. Detroit Lions defensive lineman Kerry Hyder, Jr. has seven sacks this season and is quickly emerging as a player offensive coaches must be aware of. Voter turnout from Wisconsin must have been low to see Mike Daniels come in at the bottom with only 9%.


5th round draft pick Jordan Howard of the Chicago Bears has racked up 505 yards in his five games. He’s a decisive winner in our NFCN rookie of the Mid-Year award. Teammate and blocker Cody Whitehair came in second with Lions offensive lineman Taylor Decker a close third.



Landslide! Matthew Stafford, already regarded as a legitimate MVP candidate for the NFC wins our mid-year election for NFCN MVP. No contest!






Print this entry

Aldo Gandia

Aldo Gandia

Among my career highlights I have produced two films while in high school that received nationwide attention; leaned out of a helicopter over the Gulf of Suez at the age of 20 to shoot movies of oil rigs; won an Emmy award for a sports special and another for a kid's fitness show; and led a team of very talented creative professionals to produce break-through corporate communications.

Related Articles

John Fox: Concerns, Hopes & Expectations

2017 is the Chicago Bears’ 98th season. I feel like I’ve been following them for 100 years. I’ve seen them at

Bears Hour Live – Midseason Analysis with Bonus

Every Monday Night at 9pm CST Draft Dr. Phil Ottochian interacts live with Bears Barroom Barflies. The event is captured

SKOL Brew: Vikings at Bears

Foreword: Teddy Bridgewater Looks to Emulate Tarvaris Jackson at Soldier Field There are few professional sports teams capable of what

No comments

Write a comment
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Write a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*